Multiplicative Comparisons

eraser dust and pencil shavings

Happy New Years!  I hope that this year will be wonderful and fun! I can’t say that I am entirely excited to start after winter break, but I do love that we have a few solid weeks of school. It really feels like time to get to work.

One of my very favorite things about teaching is the problem solving that I get to do everyday. Last year I was teaching about how multiplication can be used to describe a comparison and it went pretty terrible. My kids were very confused, did not do well on several of my assessments, and weren’t having any fun. My team and I worked it out with some hard work and reteaching, but this year I was so excited to give the unit another try.

I think part of the difficulty in teaching multiplicative comparisons is it can be hard to show students how it…

View original post 353 more words

