SCOTUS to join modern world…at a measured pace

Melissa Sievers Portfolio

The New York Times reported recently that the Supreme Court planned to make briefs available online as soon as 2016. I loved the explanation that the court was obligated to move slowly in adapting new technologies. There were two truly fantastic examples of clinging to outmoded traditions included, but I couldn’t quite decide whether they were arguments for or against this attitude. If you’re a fan of The Daily Show, you’ll appreciate the first one – pneumatic tubes were used until 1971. When you think about it, I suppose by going online, they’re really just doing an upgrade. The other is just inexplicable – spittoons! Decorative, I hope? I think the Justices can safely say that the Internet isn’t a passing fad at this point, so welcome to the modern world!

View original post

